My Life

oweifho

So, my life. At first I wasn’t sure where to start with this, but then I decided to get into the most recent events in my life. At the end of August this year, my mom was diagnosed with stage 2 breast cancer. The day she told me- I can’t even begin to describe how horrible it was.I had to drive her to the hospital earlier in the week for a check-up, and I remember thinking “Is Mom getting tested for something serious, like cancer?” She’d been really shifty about why we were going to the hospital but I just brushed it off because the thought was too horrible to bear. And then, on Friday, she pulled me aside with a seriousness about her and in that very moment I just knew. I knew that she had cancer and it felt like the whole world suddenly was spinning off of it’s axis.

As I’ve gotten older, I’ve become much closer to my mom. I’ve matured a lot, certainly, and I understand her better now. But still, there are times when I feel like a lost child again and speaking to my mom makes me feel safe. I don’t know how to be in this world without her.

Thankfully, I won’t be learning anytime soon what it’s like to be alone in the world. My mother is going to get treatment soon, and she is going to be okay.

Leave a comment